Mon, May 29th, 2017 - 18:55:43 PM

First national surfing competition concludes

0 comments, 05/05/2013, by , Vyga News in Sports
A stand up paddle surfer in action at the Spice Coast Open in Kovalam

A stand up paddle surfer in action at the Spice Coast Open in Kovalam

Thiruvanathapuram: Surfers from Tamil Nadu stole the limelight at India’s first national Surfing and Stand Up Paddle (SUP) competition which concluded today in Kovalam, Kerala.

Participants from the state took the podium in a number of categories at the finals of the competitions held over three days. Surfers from Karnataka and Kerala were among the winners. More than 100 athletes from around the country and abroad took part in the competition.

The fine weather and the waves provided another day of ideal surfing conditions and the Sunday turnout of spectators was big, as expected. Winners in various categories were presented trophies, cash awards and certificates.

Spice Coast Open is India’s first official national competitive event for the sport. It is being organized by the Surfing Federation of India (SFI), a body recognized by the International Surfing Association (ISA), with the support of the state Department of Tourism.

Kishore Kumar, president of SFI thanked Kerala’s Tourism Minister Shri. Anil Kumar, Tourism Secretary Shri. Suman Billa and Director Smt Rani George for their support in conducting the event.

“One of the things this competition has done is making more people aware of surfing and watersports opportunities in India,” he said. “Since the start of the event we have had a number of enquiries about surfing and about the competition. People who came to watch, particularly youngsters, showed a keen interest in the sport.”

The competition was inaugurated in Kovalam by former South African cricketer and surfing enthusiast Jonty Rhodes.

“Kovalam has been a fantastic venue for this event,” said Deepti Jha, media & marketing head of the federation. “The crowd is great and the local people, including hotels and vendors, have been very supportive.”

She said the federation is already in talks to bring back the event to Kerala next year and try and make this an annual fixture here.

Here’s the complete list of winners in various categories:


1 – Samai Reboul, Pondicherry
2 – Jelle R. – Kovalam, Kerala
3 – Murthy – CoveAlong Point, Tamil Nadu


1 – D. Manikandan – CoveAlong Point, Tamil Nadu
2 – V. Vignesh – CoveAlong Point, Tamil Nadu
3 – Dharani – CoveAlong Point, Tamil Nadu


1 – Kate – South Africa
2 – Jyothi – Mulki, Karnataka
2 – Chetana – Mulki, Karnataka


1 – Jyothi – Mulki, Karnataka
2 – Chetana – Mulki, Karnataka
3 – Atita – Bangalore


1 – Shankar V – Tamil Nadu
2 – Murthy – Cove Along Point, Tamil Nadu
3 – Velu Murugan – Tamil Nadu


1 – D. Manikandan – Cove Along Point, Tamil Nadu
2 – Santosh – Mahabalipuram, Chennai
3 – V. Vignesh – Cove Along Point, Tamil Nadu

LOCAL Junior

1 – Nissam – Kovalam, Kerala
2 – Deekshith – Mulki, Karnataka
3 – Dharani – Cove Along Point, Tamil Nadu


1 – G. Ragul – Mahabalipuram
2 – Krishna – Kovalam, Kerala
3 – Remesh – Kovalam, Kerala

Leave a Reply